What Is the Law on Riot in Louisiana and What Are the Punishments for It?
In Louisiana, disorderly conduct is generally defined making disturbance for peace and it also includes several kinds of activities such as taking part within a riot, fighting and being intoxicated or rowdy within the public. There are different types of criminal activities which are under the laws on disorderly conduct, but there are some common things within the crimes which are similar to anger, anguish or making a disturbance to the other persons or public peace and sequence. For this reason, disorderly conduct is occasionally named as a Breach of the Peace.
The Law on Disorderly Conduct Including Riot in the State of Louisiana
When an individual in Louisiana performs the criminal activities to disturb the peace by different types of criminal activities, he or she is convicted with the charge of criminal activities under the law on disorderly conduct including riot. The criminal activities are as follows.
- When a person involves fighting.
- When a person calls anybody by name or speaks something insulting or irritating.
- When a person appears within a public place when he or she is in a drunken state.
- When a person takes part in an assembly which is not lawful.
- When a person takes part in any kind of activity within a brutal and disorderly method involving at least three people.
- When a person breaks the continuity of an assembly which is lawful.
- When a person creates obstruction or disruption within a funeral procession, funeral, memorial or burial service.
For example, when an individual involves into fighting within a bar or cries out a racial mumble on the street, he or she might be convicted with the charge of making disturbance for the peace within the state of Louisiana.
In Louisiana, when extremist and hatred groups create disruption within a service regarding a memory, they are punished severely with the enacted laws by the state of Louisiana for preventing them from funeral picketing.
Sometimes, some persons are convicted under the laws on disturbing the peace and they demand that the laws of Louisiana on disturbing the peace is so wide and unclear and the laws violate their rights on the basis of the federal constitution to speak freely under the First Amendment.
In Louisiana, when at least three persons do some activities collectively to make harmful effects or hazards or make the destruction of property, it is called criminal activity of riot. When an individual urges or insists anyone to participate within riot or is unsuccessful to obey the police officer or to spread an order of a public officer, it is called criminal activity to stir up a riot. If the convicted persons with the charge of riot cause destruction of property with a value of at least $5,000 or death or significant physical injury, they are punished more seriously.
The Punishments for the Conviction of a Crime under the Laws on Disorderly Conduct Including a Riot in Louisiana
When a person is convicted with the charge of funeral picketing, he or she is punished with the imprisonment for a maximum of six months within the state prison and a fine for a maximum of $500 or both. When the persons are convicted with the other types of criminal activities under the laws on disturbing the peace, they are punished with the imprisonment for a maximum of 90 days within a state prison and a fine for a maximum of $100 or both.
When the persons are charged for the participation within a riot, providing encouragement for participating within riot or failing to spread from a riot, he or she is punished with the imprisonment for a maximum of six months within a state prison and a fine for a maximum of $500 or both. When the riot causes death, the persons involved within riot and related criminal activity are punished with imprisonment for a maximum 21 year within a state prison including hard work. When the riot causes destruction of substantial possessions or significant physical injury, this type of criminal activity is punished with the imprisonment for a maximum of five years within the state prison including hard work.