New Hampshire Marriage License Requirements: Everything You Need to Know!If you and a potential spouse would like to be joined in holy matrimony in the state of New Hampshire, there are a couple of things you should know. According to the laws of New Hampshire, people who'd like to get married in New Hampshire may only do so after getting a marriage license. You can apply for a marriage license at any clerk's office in any city or town in the state.
New Hampshire doesn't require proof of residency for a couple to be married in the state. If a couple wants to be married in New Hampshire, they have to fill out an application form which they can find at any New Hampshire town or city, no matter where their residence is located. Residents from out-of-state can get married in New Hampshire without any problems too. After a license is issued, the couple can marry in any town or city in New Hampshire.
Both partners have to be physically present at the office in order to complete the marriage license application. The only exception to this rule is if one of the partners is in the military. In such a case, you need to contact the clerk’s office in advance in order to make them aware of the situation as well as receive further instructions.
The license issuing process takes half an hour. Couples must plan their schedules according to this. Couples can process their applications in the clerk’s office Monday to Friday till 4 pm on each day. The exception to this is Thursday evening where they have to go in by 5.
After being issued, a marriage license is valid for 90 days in the State of New Hampshire. You do not need to wait and can use the license right after it is issued. You do not need to get a license in the community you live in or the community you’d like to be married in. Blood tests aren’t needed before the marriage.
New Hampshire Marriage License Fee
You need to pay $50 as a fee to get married in New Hampshire. You may pay it with cash, debit card or a credit card. Checks aren’t accepted. You may get a certified copy after the marriage ceremony has passed. You need to return the license to the clerk’s office in order to receive the certified copy. The first copy is $15. If you’d like more copies after the first copy, they are $10 each.
If the marriage was filed before 1989, you could get a certified copy of marriage after paying a fee at the city or town's clerk office where the marriage was filed. If your marriage was filed after 1989, you would be able to receive a certified copy at any town or clerk's office in New Hampshire.
Here’s what to bring when applying for a marriage license:
Both applicants must bring a copy of their age as well as identity proof. Examples of this include a valid driver's license, a nondriver's ID or passport.
If an applicant has been married before, a certified copy of a document that shows that their previous marriage has ended needs to be presented.
In addition to the above, you might need to provide these –
• Full name
• Date of Birth
• State of Birth
• Current address
• Social Security Number
• Education level
• The certified record of date last marriage ended
• Fathers full name and state of birth
• Mothers full maiden name and state of birth
You shouldn’t have any problems if both parties are older than 18 and both of you don’t make any false statements.
Search for Public Marriage Records in New Hampshire with GoLookUp!