Before getting married in the State of New Mexico, you’ll need to apply for a wedding license at any in-state county clerk office. The offices are also referred to as marriage license bureaus. They can be found in the county probate court or circuit court. The marriage license you obtain at these offices is valid across the entire state.
A marriage license costs $25. You should bring cash to pay the fee in order to have the highest chance of not being turned away in case they don’t accept checks, debit cards or credit cards. Out-of-state, as well as in-state residents, are eligible to obtain a New Mexico marriage license that is valid across the entire state of New Mexico.
New Mexico Marriage License Age requirements
• 18 and over – People who are 18 or over 18 years of age must submit a valid government ID with a name, photo, and date of birth or a passport.
• 16 and 17 – 16 and 17-year individuals are considered minors in the State of New Mexico. However, they can get married if they satisfy the following conditions.
- They must give a certified birth certificate from the state or country that they were born in.
- Both parents, if alive, must provide written consent to allow the minor to apply for the license. Written consent can be given in person at the office or through a notarized statement.
- Parents who sign consent forms have to give photo identification which matches the name on the birth certificate.
- Minors have to get authorization from the district court and give a copy of the court order which authorizes the marriage to the County Clerk if a parent is unwilling or unable to sign the consent form.
- If a parent is deceased, a certified copy of the death certificate will be sufficient.
• Under 16 – If individuals under the age of 16 wish to be married, the only possible legal way is through a district court order. There isn’t an alternative.
Names do not change automatically when you have received a marriage license. If you would like to change your last name, you will have to do so with an online name change kit.
1. Are proxy marriages permitted in New Mexico?
Proxy marriages aren’t permitted in New Mexico.
2. Can cousins be married legally in New Mexico?
New Mexico recognizes first and second cousin marriages. You can do so legally in New Mexico.
3. Are Common Law Marriages recognized in New Mexico?
New Mexico doesn’t recognize Common Law Marriages.
4. When does a marriage license expire?
a. Marriage licenses do not expire in New Mexico.
b. Licenses are valid for ceremonies which happen anywhere within the state boundaries.
c. Signed licenses have to be brought back to the County Clerk’s Office within 90 days of the ceremony.
5. Is there a waiting period after submitting all the documents?
There isn’t any waiting period. You shall get the marriage license right after you submit the application.
6. Are blood tests or any other sort of physical exam required?
No blood tests or the like need to be done.
New Mexico Marriage License Prior Marriages
In the event of any of the partners have been in a prior marriage, said partner would need to give the required divorce documents to prove that the prior marriage has been dissolved. In the case of a spouse's death, a certified copy of the death certificate must be provided.
This article isn’t meant to be used for legal proceedings. It should be thought of as general guidelines.
Search for Public Marriage Records in New Mexico with GoLookUp!