How to Get an Oregon Marriage License
It doesn't matter if you are a resident of the State of Oregon or are planning a destination wedding, you will have to comply with the state's marriage license regulations in either case. You will have to walk into the local County Clerk office armed with all necessary documents and licensing fee to obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk.
The marriage license permits you to get married anywhere within the boundaries of Oregon, no matter which county you've applied for your marriage license from. There is a three day waiting period after you've submitted your application to receive your wedding license. The license is valid for a time duration of 60 days by which time you will have to have commenced your wedding ceremony. If it happens to expire for some reason, you will have to repeat the entire procedure to acquire a new license.
Marriage Eligibility in the State of Oregon
You are eligible to organize your wedding in Oregon if you are –
- There are no residency requirements to hold marriage in Oregon. Residents and Non-residents are equally eligible for marriage within the state premises.
- You must be over the age of 18. If you happen to be underage, you will need to furnish parental consent in agreement with your marriage. The only exception is if your legal guardians happen to reside out of state and you/your fiancé have resided in the county where you’re applying for a marriage license for at least six months before the date of application.
- You can get married as early as one day from your date of divorce in the State of Oregon.
- Same-sex marriages are permitted by national law in Oregon.
- Marriage between cousins is not legal in the state unless you’re cousins by adoption.
- Proxy marriages are not allowed in the State of Oregon.
How to go about securing a marriage license in Oregon –
Here are the steps of informing you how you can attempt to obtain a license to wed in the State of Oregon :
- Both you and your fiancé will have to visit the County Clerk’s office to receive a marriage license application.
- You will have to fill in this application with all basic details such as Name, Address and so forth. You may also have to provide additional details such as your Social Security number, so have all of this arranged and ready.
- A valid photo ID will be necessary as proof of identity.
- You will also have to pay the licensing fee.
- As discussed above, you will have to wait three days until you can obtain your wedding license. The County Clerk may waive off this waiting period in some cases if you can convince them that you will be marrying within the following three days and are willing to pay a special fee to acquire your license before time.
- The marriage will have to be officiated by an officiant. A judge/religious leader/county clerk or judicial officer can play the role of an officiant.
- You will need two witnesses to sign on the marriage license for your marriage to be recognized in the State of Oregon.
- The officiant must sign your marriage license and return it to the County Clerk’s office a maximum of 10 days from the ceremony for you to receive a certified marriage license. The process of officially recording your marriage should take a week or two.
Well, now that you know how to get a marriage license in Oregon, all that’s left to do is get married to your beloved before the license duration runs out.