Unlimited Public Records and Court Records Search

Public Records Search

Free Public Records, County Public Records, Public Records Lookup

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 16, 2021
Sensitive Information!

Drunk Driving Laws Nevada

In Nevada, the DUI (driving under the influence) is officially used instead of DWI (driving while intoxicated). Nevada Drunk Driving Laws prohibit all people who are driving or operating a vehicle with the presence of 0.08% or more BAC (blood alcohol concentration) or under the control of influential materials such as alcohol or drugs.

Different Types of Offenses under the Nevada Drunk Driving Law

There are several activities of a motorist considering different situations when he or she is accused of a charge with an offense according to the Nevada Drunk Driving Law and these are:

  • An individual cannot drive safely while he or she used influential materials with the BAC of 0.08% or more. Then, he or she is accused of an offense of DUI Laws.
  • A commercial driver with a BAC limit of 0.04% or more is accused of an offense according to Drunk Driving Law.
  • The legal age for driving a vehicle in Nevada is at least 21 years. A motorist at the age of below 21 years with a BAC limit of 0.02% or more is charged with an offense under the Drunk Driving Laws in Nevada.
  • Considering DUI Laws, driving or operating a vehicle by an individual with a BAC limit of 0.08% or more is accused of an offense for being within actual physical control of a vehicle.
Nevada Drunk Driving Laws

Generally, a judge or jury considers some evidence to determine whether a motorist was actually within the condition of physical control of a vehicle. The evidences are related to the following matters.

  • The state of the vehicle whether it was at rest or in moving condition
  • Whether the motorist was convicted for Drunk Driving at night
  • The location of the ignition key
  • The position and condition of the motorist when he or she was identified within the vehicle
  • The state of asleep or awake of the driver
  • The condition of the vehicle’s headlight whether it was on or off
  • The location of the vehicle whether it was kept with public property or private property
  • The place where the vehicle was stopped whether it was a legal parking place or on the roadside.


Punishment for Drunk Driving in Nevada

Punishment for Drunk Driving in Nevada

Considering different situations of the cases, Punishment for Drunk Driving in Nevada can vary. When an individual is accused of an offense according to the DUI Laws for the first time, he or she gets punishment for staying within a state jail for a maximum of 180 days and mandatory imprisonment is for 2 days. Otherwise, he or she will have to provide community services for 48 hours to 96 hours. He or she will pay a fine of a minimum of $400. His or her driving license revocation will be for at least 185 days. The restriction for IID (ignition interlock device) will be for 185 days when the BAC limit is lower than 0.18% or for 3 years when the BAC limit is 0.18% or more.

When an individual is charged with a DUI offense for the second time, he or she gets punishment for staying within a state jail for a maximum of 180 days and mandatory imprisonment for 10 days otherwise, he or she will get home confinement. He or she will pay a fine at a minimum of $750. Otherwise, he or she will provide community service for an equivalent number of hours. His or her driving license revocation will be for one year. The restriction for IID (ignition interlock device) will be for 185 days when the BAC limit is lower than 0.18% or for 1 year to 3 years when the BAC limit is 0.18% or more.

When an individual is charged with DUI  offense for the third time, he or she gets punishment for staying within a state jail for 1 year to 6 years. He or she will pay a fine for a minimum of $2,000. His or her license revocation will be for 3 years. The restriction for IID (ignition interlock device) will be for 1 year to 3 years.

Like this page? Share it :)


Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 16, 2021
Sensitive Information!