Unlimited Public Records and Court Records Search

Public Records Search

Free Public Records, County Public Records, Public Records Lookup

Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 24, 2021
Sensitive Information!

 Drunk Driving Laws North Dakota

DUI Offenses

DUI is Drunk Under the Influence, which is nothing but drunk driving where a person who has consumed excess alcohol drives a vehicle. This is considered an offense under the law as it can pose a risk to the driver, to the people seated in the vehicle, and to others on the road. Accidents caused by drunk drivers are common. DUI Laws prohibit drunken driving and specify stringent penalties for those who drink and drive.

North Dakota Drunk Driving Laws

In the State of North Dakota, the Drunk Driving Laws specify that operating or attempting to drive a vehicle when under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any intoxicants is a criminal offense. It must be noted that the Drunk Driving Law makes it clear that even attempting to drive a motor vehicle is an offense. It is not required to be driving the vehicle for an offense to be committed.

In North Dakota, a police officer can flag a vehicle down if he suspects drunk driving. The state has an implied consent law, which means it is mandatory to take a blood test. The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) in the blood determines whether an offense has been committed.

If the blood test reveals that a vehicle driver has a BAC of 0.08% or higher, it is an offense. If the driver is below the age of 21, the BAC limit is reduced to 0.02%. For drivers of commercial vehicles, the BAC limit prescribed by 0.04%.

North Dakota Drunk Driving Laws
Punishment for Drunk Driving in North Dakota

Refusing to undergo a Blood Alcohol Test is an offense. It can lead to suspension of driving license for a period of 180 days. Refusing a blood test for the second time can lead to suspension of the license for 2 years. For a third offense, the suspension period can extend to a maximum of 3 years.

Driving under the influence as decided by the BAC levels invites punishment under the law. If the offense is committed for the first time, the following are the punishments under the law:

  • A fine of $500.
  • Suspension of driving license for 91 days. This can be reduced after 15 days if the offender participates in a sobriety program.

Aggravated DUI is when the BAC level is 0.16% or more. The punishment for aggravated DUI is:

  • A fine of $750.
  • Driving license suspension of 91 days. It can be increased to 180 days if the BAC is 0.18% or more.
  • 2 days of imprisonment in jail or 10 hours of community services.

North Dakota Drunk Driving Laws

If the offense of DUI is committed for the second time then the punishments are enhanced. It will be:

  • A fine of $1,000 to $1,500.
  • Suspension of driving license for up to 1 year. If BAC is 0.16% or more, the suspension will be for up to 2 years.
  • Imprisonment for 10 days in jail or 30 days of community service.
  • An ignition interlock requirement may be imposed where the offender is required to install a device that will lock the ignition if alcohol is detected through a breath test.
  • Attendance to an alcohol evaluation program.

For a third offense, punishments are:

  • Fine of $2,000.
  • License suspension of 2 to 3 years.
  • Imprisonment of 120 days to 1 year.
  • Ignition interlock may be imposed.
  • Alcohol addiction treatment.
  • The vehicle may be seized.

For fourth or higher offenses, punishments are:

  • $2,000 fine.
  • 3 years of suspension of license.
  • 1 year and 1-day imprisonment.
  • Ignition interlock may be imposed.
  • Alcohol addiction treatment.
  • The vehicle may be seized.

Commercial vehicle drivers committing a DUI can face permanent cancellation of driving license is found guilty.

Like this page? Share it :)


Search for anyone in the United States! 100% Confidential! Updated on September 24, 2021
Sensitive Information!