Drunk Driving Laws South Carolina
Driving itself is something that is strictly regulated and the law requires that one knows how to drive a car properly before he is let on the road. It is an activity that has the ability to put the lives of the passengers in the car at risk and also the people out on the road as well. It is, therefore, something that should be strictly regulated and laws should be made to enforce the rules.
When that driving becomes DUI, i.e driving under influence then it is a completely different ballpark. Drunk Driving is one of the most serious crimes that an individual can commit. It has the potential of becoming an even graver crime if driving under influence results in causing significant injury to someone, or in worse case scenarios, death. In all the jurisdictions, therefore, DUI laws have been enacted to curb the menace of drunk driving.
State statutes treat drunk driving as a very serious offense, and the penalties or the punishment for drunk driving differ on the circumstances. The procedure to determine whether a person is drunk driving is to check the BAC or the Blood Alcohol Content and whether it is above the prescribed limit. There is a certain limited that has been prescribed by law and whoever is found to be drunk beyond this limit comes within the ambit of the law.
South Carolina Drunk Driving Law and Punishment
The state statute specifies that whoever is above the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.8% or more shall be apprehended. Since it is not necessary that an alcohol content of only 0.8% or more can render a person unable to drive a vehicle, the state laws also specify that persons found 'under the influence' of a drug, intoxicant or alcohol shall be taken into custody. It means that even if a persons' BAC is less than 0.8% he can be taken to book if the authorities come to the conclusion that the ability of the individual to operate the vehicle is impaired to an extent that he cannot drive anymore. South Carolina drunk driving law also states that the BAC for commercial vehicles is%.
The punishment for drunk driving in South Carolina depends on certain circumstances, especially if the person is a repeat offender, in which case the penalties and the fines go up. If it is the first offense, then the law states that it might attract a jail time f as less as 48 hours to a maximum of 1 year, with a minimum fine of $400 up to $1000. If it is a second offense, then it accrues a jail time of not less than 3 days and a maximum of 5 years and a fine of up to $2,100 to a maximum of $6,500. If it is a third-time offense, then it attracts a jail time of 60 days to 5 years, with a minimum fine of $3,800 to a maximum of $10,000.
Every time a person is convicted of violating the DUI laws in the state, he/she is required to enroll in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action program. A person who is first-time offenders is eligible to do their time doing community service rather than spend it in jail. The hours required to do community service would be roughly equal to the amount of jail time that would be required to be served. This is a good way of making the offenders aware and sensitize them about the dangers of driving under the influence, may it be drugs, alcohol or any other intoxicant.