Sex Offender Laws in Louisiana
Louisiana state law says that any adult who has been convicted of, pled guilty to or received a deferred or withheld adjudication for certain sex crimes has to register as an offender with the state of Louisiana. There are many crimes included in the list. They are –
- Child trafficking
- Sexual battery
- Rape and aggravated rape
- Aggravated kidnapping of a child
In addition to this, juveniles who have pled guilty or have been convicted of second-degree kidnapping or certain sex offenses have to register. There is an exception in place for third-degree or simple rape. A juvenile who is at least 14 years old when the crime is committed and has committed certain sexual misconduct, such as aggravated kidnapping or rape of a person who is 13 years of age or younger have to register themselves in the sex offender registry.
How much time should an offender register themselves for?
The Louisiana State police have explained that the length of time an offender has to register for depends on the crime committed. To illustrate this, offenses other than those against a minor or those which are defined as an aggravated call for 15 years of registration. Offenses against miners which are sexual require a registration period of 25 years while aggravated offenses carry lifetime registrations with them.
Where can an offender register?
According to information from the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, an offender has to register with the parish of residency’s sheriff office. There are cases where a person’s address falls into an incorporated area which has a police department or where an area has a population greater than 450,000. In these cases, an offender is required to register with the police.
In addition to this, if a person works or goes to school in a parish which is separate from the one that he or she lives in, the offender has to register with either the sheriff’s office or the police department there.
An offender who fails to register will be dealt with harshly as per the Louisiana state law. The law states that an offender who fails to register as a sex offender will attract a fine of up to $1,000 in addition to a two to ten-year prison sentence which would include hard labor. Subsequent offenses of failing to register will extend the prison sentence by as much as 20 years.
As per information supplied by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections, a person required to register as a sex offender has to provide the following information to the police or sheriff.
- Name as well as any aliases
- Social Security number
- A current photograph
- A physical description which includes sex, age, race, weight, height, hair color, eye color, scars as well as tattoos
- Residential address
- Telephone numbers
- Fingerprints, handprints as well as a DNA sample
- Name as well as a physical address of a place of employment or school if applicable
- Two different types of proof of residence. Ex – utility bills, driver’s license
- Description of vehicles driven by their license plate numbers
- All email addresses, online avatar names, online screen names as well as any other online identities which are used by the offender to communicate on the internet
- Passport as well as documents establishing immigration status
People who are looking at sex crime charges can and should consult with an experienced attorney. An experienced attorney has the skills to reduce charges as well as prison time considerably.