Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and Punishments in New Hampshire

Any person in New Hampshire who engages with children below 16 years of age (the age of consent) in sexual activity could be convicted on charges of sexual assault. This is also termed statutory rape. As per the statutory rape laws present in New Hampshire, the determining fact is the victim's age and the difference of age between the defendant and the victim.

It is immaterial as to whether the victim gave consent or pursued this intimate relationship. It is standard that a person who forcefully commits sex acts or without the consent of the other person could also be convicted and charged of assault or sex crimes or both.

Sexual assault laws in New Hampshire

An individual commits a sexual assault crime in New Hampshire when

  • The person engages in any kind of sexual conduct with any child who is a minimum of 13 years of age but below 16 years. The defendant must be five years or older than the victim
  • The person engages in any sexual penetration activity, including anal or oral sex, sexual penetration of victim or defendant, or sexual intercourse with any child who is minimum 13 years of age but must be below 16 years of age when the age of the defendant person must not exceed the four year gap from the victim.
New Hampshire Statutory Rape Law

Statutory rape gets punished more severely in case the defendant's age exceeds four years' older than the victim.  The punishment gets amplified if the defendant has engaged in any sexual penetration. The punishment for statutory rape is also severe if it is found that the defendant and the victim have engaged in an incestuous relationship. Tougher punishments are also given if the victim is below 18 years of age and the specific defendant is in an authoritative position over the child.

Sexual assault is considered Class A misdemeanor and could be punishable by one-year incarceration and fine to a maximum of $2,000. Felonious sexual assault is Class B felony, and punishment may extend up to seven years in prison and monetary fines up to $4,00. Aggravated criminal sexual assault carries a jail term of 20 years and a monetary fine up to a maximum of $4,000.

Sexual assault of any child who is younger than 13 years

Any touching of any child or sexual penetration of any child below 13 years of age is regarded as felonious sexual assault or aggravated felonious sexual assault. Any conviction for any sexual contact with any child aged below 13 may lead to long prison times.

Statutory Rape Law New Hampshire

Child Enticement in New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, it is illegal to persuade or invite any child below 16 years of age to be engaged in activities of a sexual nature. This is inclusive regardless of whether the child was invited in person or simply added by computer software.

It is also independent of whether there will be an occurrence of any sexual activity. Defendants in such cases get regularly arrested and then prosecuted for crimes of child enticement due to sting operations launched by law enforcement personnel misidentifying themselves as children who like to engage in sexual relations with older individuals, and in most cases of this type, older men.

Defendants in New Hampshire who get charged with statutory rape cases can bring up the natural defenses which are available to all criminal defendants like blaming someone else for the crime or the alleged incident did not occur at all. Many defendants invoke the "Romeo and Juliet" Exception. The latter laws were written to protect teens from all criminal charges if the sexual activity was consensual.

New Hampshire Rape Laws

New Hampshire Sex Offender Search

To find out who is a registered New Hampshire sex offender, you can contact law enforcement agencies in the county where the person in question lives. The quickest way to find New Hampshire sex offenders is to perform an online query with a public records' search directory, like GoLookUp.

To perform the search, you can enter a certain zip code that you want to know more about; then, the directory will begin to aggregate information from public records, and it will provide you information about all the sex offenders who live in that area. The list of New Hampshire sex offenders will include their names, the sex crimes they have committed, their address, mugshots, and additional data.

For a more specific search, you can use GoLookUp's name-based sex offender search. After you enter the name of a person in question, the directory will begin to scan public records to find information about the person in question. The criminal records report that you will receive includes the name of the person, their mugshots, the crimes they committed, and additional information. With this New Hampshire sex offender search, you will be able to discover who have violated New Hampshire statutory rape laws, and other sex laws in the state.