Sex Offender Laws in New Jersey
The legal term used for sexual assault in New Jersey is rape. The crime is stringently punished under the laws of the state that has a wide range of sexual contact, as well as, levels of intimidation or force.
Punishment for felony depends on the victim’s age and crime. Typically, sexual assault is regarded as a second-degree offense and can send the offender behind bars for a maximum of 10 years. On the other hand, aggravated sexual assault is considered as a first-degree crime and is punishable by up to 20 years of imprisonment terms.
What are the categories of sex offenders in New Jersey?
The law of New Jersey categorizes sex offenders into three distinct tiers by their crime severity and the possibility of their committing an offense again.
- Tier 1: These offenders have a low chance of committing similar offenses again. Their details are not updated in the online registry for sex offenders of the state.
- Tier 2: These offenders have a moderate chance of committing similar offenses again.
- Tier 3: Such offenders pose the maximum possibility of committing new crimes once again.
Sex offender registry New Jersey
- Under Megan’s Law, the convicted has to register himself as a sex offender with all the necessary details. The law also requires information of the registered sex offenders to be made available to the public through online databases.
- If juveniles are found guilty, they too need to register themselves as sex offenders according to the laws of New Jersey.
- In the case of Tier 1 sexual offenses, information is received only by the police officers. For Tier 2 sexual offenses, notifications are sent to community organizations for kids, day care facilities, summer camps, and schools along with the law enforcement For Tier 3 offenses, which is at the most severe risk level, notification is also sent to the general public.
The time frame to register as a sex offender in Connecticut
- Any sex offender under the supervision of a community should register himself when he is placed under work release, furlough, parole, probation or any other similar program.
- Any offender who is serving his sentence in a juvenile or correctional facility for a sexual assault should register before his release. He has to re-register himself within forty-eight hours of getting released.
- Any offender returning from another state to or shifting to New Jersey need to register within ten days of returning to or residing in the state.
- Sex offenders who are out-of-country and out-of-state should register with the relevant authorities within seventy days of their entry to the state.
- Any offender who should register himself as in some other state as a sex offender and is working in the state of New Jersey for a total period of more than thirty days or over fourteen consecutive days should register his name in the same municipality where his employer is based within ten days post the commencement of his employment.
- If a sex offender has to register himself in some other state but has taken admission in one of the educational institutions in the state of New Jersey should get himself registered in a municipality, which is situated at the same place as that of his educational institute within ten days post commencing the attendance and also with the educational institution’s law enforcement unit if any.
Failure to Comply
The state of New Jersey has specified a stringent set of requirements for its sex offender registration. In case a convict fails to adhere to the rule periodic reporting provisions or register himself as a sex offender, he may have to face severe criminal penalties.