Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What Is Statutory Rape Law and its Punishments in Utah? 

The state of Utah’s legal framework deems it illegal for any adult to have sex with a minor (age of 15 or less) even if the sexual activity between individuals is consented to. Anyone who breaks the law is considered to be guilty of statutory rape.

Statutory rape laws are implemented under the assumption that anyone who is a minor is incapable of consenting to sexual activity. Since their incapacity is written into the statute of the law, it is termed “statutory rape.”

A prosecutor is not required to prove an assault in case of statutory rape.

Utah Statutory Rape Law
However, if the act of statutory rape also involved assault or the use of force, the Utah state laws can declare the sexual act under assault and battery, child enticement, molestation, and forcible rape as well. Statutory rape can be prosecuted under Utah’s sex crime and sexual abuse laws. The penalties for statutory rape are dependent on various factors of the crime, which include:

a) Child rape: Sexual intercourse with a victim aged 13 or less is considered to be a first-degree felony if the defendant is 18 or older. Upon being found guilty, the defendant can face at least six years in prison up to a life sentence, or a fine of $10,000, or both under Utah State Laws.

b) Sodomy on a child: Anal or oral sex with a victim aged 13 or less is considered to be a first-degree felony if the defendant is 18 or older. Upon being found guilty, the defendant can face at least six years in prison up to a life sentence, or a fine of $10,000, or both under Utah Code State Laws.

Statutory Rape Law Utah

c) Object Rape on a child: Sexual penetration using an object with a victim aged 13 or less is considered to be a first-degree felony if the defendant is 18 or older. Upon being found guilty, the defendant can face at least five years in prison up to a life sentence, or a fine of $10,000, or both under Utah State Laws.

d) Unlawful sexual conduct: According to the Utah State Laws, illegal sexual conduct that involves sexual touching, oral sex between a minor aged between 16 or 17 and a defendant who is seven, eight, or nine years older than the victim who is aware of the minor’s age during the time when the sexual activity takes place. A defendant who is ten or more years older than the victim is considered to have committed statutory rape even if he or she is not aware of the victim's age.

Criminal sexual conduct can be punishable with the defendant facing up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $2,500 or both. In case the act is not found to be a case of misdemeanor, it is considered to be a third-degree felony which can lead to a maximum sentencing of five years and a fine of up to $5,000, or both under Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-3-203, 76-3-204, 76-3-301, 76-5-401.2 (2018).


Utah Rape Laws
Other than statutory rape laws, there are laws in place that protect minors from unlawful sexual activity, sexual abuse, and illegal adolescent sexual activity. The acts are considered misdemeanors and are punishable law. However, they are not considered to be felonies, and the punishment for misbehavior between two minors is far less with a maximum fine of up to $5,000, or five years in prison, or both. In addition to the sentencing, defendants who are declared guilty also need to register themselves as sexual offenders. 

Utah Sex Offender Search

People who have violated Utah statutory rape laws are required to be registered as sex offenders in the state and in any other state they move to. When a person becomes a registered sex offender, the information about them becomes available to the general public; this means that you can look up Utah sex offenders who have violated Utah statutory rape laws and have committed other sex crimes. Nowadays, you can perform an online Utah sex offender search instead of contacting law enforcement agencies who keep this public records' data.

If you want to get quick search results about Utah sex offenders, you can use GoLookUp's online search directories that are available to you at all times. The first directory lets you perform a sex offenders search based on zip codes; with this directory, you will need to enter a Utah zip code to the search line. Then, the directory will scan public records and will let you know who are all the sex offenders who live in the zip code that you entered.

You can also use GoLookUp's criminal records directory to get more specific results. To perform this type of search, you need to type in the name of a person you think is a registered sex offender. At the end of the search, you will receive a report about the said person's criminal records, including whether they have violated Utah statutory rape laws.