Sex Offender Search

Access: Sex Offender Data Base, Arrest Records, Police Records, Court Records!

Customer Service is Available 24/7. Call Us at 1.877.890.2213

What is Statutory Rape Law and its Punishments in Wisconsin?

Statutory rape law is adopted to help victims traumatized by rape to get the right judgment for the accused. This state of the U.S does not have an exemption for close in age. Wisconsin has a statutory rape law, just like any other state of U.S, does not allow sexual intercourse below the age of 18. This law is violated when a person indulges in sexual interaction with a person below the age of 18. But, this law is exempted only in the case of marriage, that too when the person is 16 years of age and above.

This state of the U.S, considers the sexual act between an 18-year-old and the other person below the age of 18, as rape under its statute. Unlike other states of U.S, Wisconsin is strict in the legal age of consent. No person below the age of 18 is legal to have sexual contact, even if it is with their respective consent. Wisconsin does not have any laws regarding the age difference, between the two people, if they are above the age of legal consent.

Wisconsin Statutory Rape Law

However, Wisconsin does not have the Romeo and Juliet laws. Therefore, when a person is indulged in sexual contact with a minor, then he can be prosecuted for the crime. Even when two people are married and if the spouse forces the other to have sex, then it is considered as rape, though Wisconsin has a marital exemption.

Sexual assault in the first degree: This law applies when the accused causes pregnancy or physical harm to the victim, without their consent or forces or threatens the victim to have sexual intercourse or is accompanied by other people who force the victim along with the accused. This crime is charged under Wisconsin Stat. 940.225(1) as Class B Felony and the punishment for this crime is a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 60 years.

Sexual assault in the second degree: This law applies when the accused forces or threatens the victim to have sexual intercourse, or when the accused causes disease or harm to the victim, or has sexual intercourse with a mentally or physically challenged person, or when the victim is intoxicated or unconscious, or when the accused is accompanied by other persons threatening the victim, or when the victim is a patient or resident of a program or when the accused is in a parole. This crime is charged under Wisconsin Stat. 940.225(2) as Class C Felony and the punishment for this crime is a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 40 years or a fine of $100,000 or both imprisonment and fine.

Statutory Rape Law Wisconsin

Sexual assault in the third degree: This law applies when the accused has sexual intercourse with a person without their consent or sexually harassing the victim or when the accused wants to humiliate or degrade the victim sexually. This crime is charged under Wisconsin Stat. 940.225(3) as Class G Felony and the punishment for this crime is a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 10 years or a fine of $25,000 or sometimes both imprisonment and fine.

Sexual assault in the fourth degree: This law applies when the accused indulges in sexual harassment or when the accused wants to humiliate or degrade the victim sexually. This law excepts only the consent of the victim, relating to the third degree of sexual assault. This crime is charged under Wisconsin Stat. 940.225(3m) as Class A misdemeanor and the punishment for this crime is a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 9 months or a fine of $10,000 or both the imprisonment and fine.

Statutory rape: This law applies when the victim is a minor. There is no separate law for this crime in Wisconsin, but this crime comes under the law of Sexual Intercourse with a Child of age 16 and above. This crime is charged under Wisconsin Stat. 948.09 as Class A misdemeanor and Class B Felony and the punishment for this crime in Class A misdemeanor is a maximum sentence of imprisonment of 9 months or a fine of $10,000 or both the imprisonment and fine and Class B Felony is punished with a maximum imprisonment of 60 years.

Wisconsin Rape Laws,

Wisconsin Sex Offender Search

If you want to search for people who have violated Wisconsin statutory rape laws, you can perform an online Wisconsin sex offender search. These days, you no longer have to contact law enforcement agencies to find out who is a registered sex offender. Instead, you can use Wisconsin's online search directory to discover who is a sex offender in the state. You can also use an online sex offender search engine, like GoLookUp that will reveal who is a registered sex offender in the state.

To find out if a person that you know has violated Wisconsin statutory rape laws, you can use GoLookUp's name-based criminal records search; you will simply enter the name of the person in question, and the website will do all the searching for you – it will scan public records and provide you with a report that includes the said person's convictions, including sex crime violations.

You can also use GoLookUp's wide sex offender zip code search that allows you to find out who are all the registered sex offender in a particular area. To perform the search, you will need to enter a zip code into the directory. When the search is complete, GoLookUp will provide you with information about all the registered sex offenders who live in the Wisconsin zip code that you provided.