What are the Shoplifting Laws in Oklahoma?
Oklahoma law treats shoplifting as theft or larceny and defines it as an act of procuring a personal property by using stealth and fraud with the intention of depriving another person thereof. It typically denotes that it is a theft committed at any time when the offender takes the property of someone else wrongfully while not having any intention of returning it.
To appreciate what the state of Oklahoma refers to as petit larceny, it is imperative to understand the definition of grand larceny is. Grand larceny in Oklahoma has been defined as taking the property of another person with a value of over 1,000 USD or property of any value when it is obtained from the body of another person. A majority of shoplifting is regarded as petit larceny in the state of Oklahoma. Petit larceny in the state has been defined as those acts of larceny, which do not come under the category of grand larceny. In Oklahoma, shoplifting might be charged as grand larceny or petit larceny based on the stolen merchandise's value.
Penalties for shoplifting in Oklahoma
Larceny of items from shoplifting or retailer is regarded slightly distinctly as compared to Oklahoma's regular larceny. In case a person shoplifts merchandise whose value is below 500 USD and it is his/her first conviction, they can be penalized by a fine in the range of 10 USD to 500 USD and/or a jail term of 30 days. The state law attaches the same punishments when the person is convicted for the second time.
When a person shoplifts multiple items whose value is below 500 USD and is found guilty, they may have to pay a fine amount between 50 USD and 500 USD and/or a maximum jail term of 30 days. Such punishments are applicable for 1st and 2nd convictions.
When a person is convicted tor the 3rd or subsequent times for shoplifting multiple items whose value is below 500 USD, they have to serve a prison term between 2 to 5 years in Oklahoma. When a person shoplifts property whose value is between 500 USD and 1,000 USD even for the first time, the charge is considered a felony offense. The convicted has to serve a maximum jail term of 1 year. Apart from that, the convicted may have to pay a maximum fine of 5,000 USD, as well as, restitution to the aggrieved or victim.
When the value of the property is a minimum of 1,000 USD or more, the convicted might have to face a prison term between 1 and 5 years, even when the offense is committed for the first-time.
Civil punishments in Oklahoma
According to Oklahoma law, there are certain provisions mentioned for civil actions to be taken against shoplifters apart from criminal charges. The owner of a retail establishment or a business may prosecute the shoplifter in a civil court for a part of the decreased value of the item in addition to the costs and fees of the attorneys or the stolen goods' retail price.
When a minor shoplifts from a shop either both parents or one of them could be prosecuted. In Oklahoma, the courts also permit punitive damages. It is possible for a merchant or a business owner to pursue criminal punishments, as well as, civil punishments against the shoplifter. In Oklahoma, the court can also direct for restitution, On the other hand, it is not permitted for the merchant or the owner to double-dip. To put it simply, the merchant is nor allowed to recover the stolen goods' value more than once.
It is better to get in touch with a reputable lawyer when a person is slapped with charges of shoplifting in the state of Oklahoma.
Find Oklahoma Criminal Records with GoLookUp!