Shoplifting Laws in Wyoming: Learn About Wyoming Shoplifting Laws

by Kourtney C.

Wyoming Shoplifting Laws, Shoplifting Laws Wyoming

What are Shoplifting Laws in Wyoming?

While shoplifting offenses are quite common, that does not necessarily mean that these offenses are not looked upon seriously in the United States. The penal code of every American state constitutes provisions, which are applicable to shoplifting though they typically fall within the umbrella of larceny or theft statutes. Also, penalties upon conviction can be harsh particularly when the offender already has a past criminal record or the monetary value of the stolen merchandise is high

Typically, shoplifting is defined more widely as compared to just removing products from a retail establishment without paying for the same. In other words, simply being able to leave a store successfully with unpaid items is not the only characteristic of shoplifting. There should be an intention to steal to be slapped with the charges of shoplifting for the following things:

  1. Changing the price tag of the merchandise
  2. Making an attempt to remove or removing theft-prevention devices or security tags
  3. Taking out a product from its packaging, as well as, hiding the product among other products, and
  4. Secretly possessing an item while still inside the shop i.e, putting the item in the purse of pocket
Wyoming Shoplifting Laws

Definition of Shoplifting in Wyoming

Shoplifting is an offense committed by a person by taking possession of or concealing a property, which is made available for sale by a retail store or a wholesaler without the owner's consent or knowledge and with the intention of converting the property for their own personal use and not paying its purchase price before leaving such an establishment.

Also, when a person removes, changes, defaces, or alters a marker or a price tag on the property, which is made available for sale to the public by a retail store or a wholesaler with the intention of having the merchandise at a price lower than the listed or marked price is also said to have committed shoplifting in Wyoming.

 

Punishments for Shoplifting in Wyoming

In Wyoming, a person found guilty of the offense of shoplifting as a felony is penalized by a maximum of 10,000 USD and/or a maximum prison term of 10 years when the value of the stolen property is at least 1,000 USD or more.

When the value of the stolen property from an establishment in Wyoming is below 1,000 USD, the offense of shoplifting is considered a misdemeanor. The convicted is punished by a maximum fine of 750 USD and/or maximum prison time of 6 months,

If the offender tampers with the price tag of the merchandise, the state law considers it as a felony when the difference between the product's listed or marked price and the actual price paid is at least 1,000 USD or more. The offender is penalized by a maximum fine of 10,000 USD and/or a maximum prison term of 10 years.

Shoplifting Laws Wyoming

On the other hand, if the offender has tampered with the item's price tag in such a manner that the difference between the listed or marked price and the actual amount paid is below 1,000 USD, it is considered a misdemeanor. The convicted has to pay a maximum fine of 750 USD and/or a maximum prison term of 6 months.

Interrogation and Detention of Suspects of Shoplifting in Wyoming

In Wyoming, when an employee of the merchant, merchant, or a peace officer has adequate reason to believe that an individual is violating the shoplifting law, they can interrogate and detain that individual with respect to such violation for a reasonable period, as well as, for a reasonable manner.

If you have been slapped with charges of shoplifting in the state of Wyoming, consult a reputable criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

Find Wyoming Criminal Records with GoLookUp!