Drunk Driving Laws in Maine
The state of Maine has extremely strict drunk driving laws to deter people from driving while under the influence. Maine drunk driving laws are stricter than almost all other states. While other states penalize an individual arrested for drunk driving for the first time by arresting them for an average of 48 hours, Maine drunk driving law penalizes a first time offender by putting them in prison for at least 30 days.
The drunk driving law of Maine has a strict policy of non-tolerance towards underage drunk drivers. If an individual under the age of 21 is arrested for violating drunk driving law, their license will be suspended for one year. The legal limit for blood alcohol content is 0.4. In Maine, a DUI is also known as OUI, meaning Operating Under the Influence.
Punishment for Drunk Driving in Maine
Maine is a state where the act of driving while under the influence of entails grave punishment. While the use of an ignition interlock device is allowed as an option in the state, the individual in question will have to oversee a lengthy period of suspension to take advantage of the program. A prison time of 48 hours is mandatory for every individual who is convicted of driving while drunk in the state. The punishment for drunk driving in Maine is listed below:
- An individual who is arrested for the first time under Maine Drunk Driving Law will be charged guilty of committing a Class D crime, which calls for prison time of one year. Imprisonment for at least 48 hours is essential for the individual who violated one of the following drunk driving laws:
- Driving with a blood alcohol content of over 0.15.
- The individual was driving over 30 miles an hour while under the influence.
- The individual ran from the police or attempted to outrun them.
- The individual was driving with another person who was under the age of 21.
- The individual will be fined an amount between $500 and $2000. Alongside this, their driver's license will be revoked for at least 150 days.
- An individual will be arrested for violating OUI or DUI Laws for the second time will be charged guilty of committing a Class D Crime, which entails prison time of one year. The individual will have to spend at least 7 days in prison. Their driver's license will be suspended for a minimum period of three years and will be fined an amount between $700 and $2000. The court may also order voluntary participation in an alcohol program for the individual.
- An individual who is arrested for the third time for DUI or an OUI within 10 years will be convicted of a Class C Crime under Drunk Driving and DUI Laws. The punishment for this crime includes a minimum prison time of 30 days and a maximum prison time of 5 years. They will be ordered to pay a fine of an amount between $1,100 and $5,100. The term for the individual's suspension of the driver's license will be four years. The court will also order to person to take part in a voluntary alcohol program.
- An individual who is arrested for violating the drunk driving law for the fourth time in 10 years in Maine will be found guilty under Class C Crime, which carries a minimum prison sentence of 6 months, and a maximum prison sentence of 5 years. They will be required to pay a fine of an amount between $2,100 to $5,100. The driver's license of the individual will be suspended for six years. Lastly, the court will order the individual to take part in a voluntary alcohol program.