Shoplifting Laws in Connecticut: Learn About Connecticut Shoplifting Laws

by Felix J.

Connecticut Shoplifting Laws, Shoplifting Laws Connecticut

Shoplifting Laws in Connecticut

Shoplifting is a theft of any item put on sale in a shop. In other words, if a person takes an item from a shop, conceals it on their person and leaves without paying for it, they are considered to be shoplifters. Unlike popular belief, shoplifting is not done by those who are poor or in need. More often than not, the shoplifter is either someone who can afford to but the items they have lifted.

 

Shoplifting in Connecticut:

Shoplifting is considered to be a crime in Connecticut. It is one of the most common crimes committed in the State. Defined under subdivision (9) of section 53a-119 of the Connecticut general statutes, shoplifting is an intentional act of taking possession of any goods, wares or merchandise, offered or displayed in a store or any mercantile establishment. By possessing the goods, the person intends to use it for their personal gain without paying for it.

The subsection further adds that if any person intentionally conceals an unpurchased good or merchandise, either on the store or mercantile establishment's premises or outside, they will be assumed to have concealed the same with the intention of using the goods personally, without wanting to pay the price.

Connecticut Shoplifting Laws

From the definition, it is clear that the person commits larceny by shoplifting with the intention of using the goods personally or to give to a third party, while not paying the price of the item stolen and thus depriving the shop of their rightful earning. Shoplifting is not a petty crime. The Connecticut laws cover a wide array of offenses that may be considered shoplifting. Removing price tags or changing their containers, opening the product package and use of false coupons or vouchers are also considered as shoplifting.

Using Shoplifting Devices:

Making use of devices to aid or conceal shoplifting is also considered larceny. As per section 53a-127f of the general statutes, anyone found in possession of a shoplifting device or any other such device designed with the intention of advancing or facilitating larceny by shoplifting. This includes any device or instrument designed or adapted to block antitheft or inventory control devices.

Criminal Penalties for Shoplifting in Connecticut:

The penalties levied against larceny by shoplifting depend on the value of goods or merchandise that were taken by the offender. Whether they have committed a felony or a misdemeanor, every person guilty of shoplifting will have to serve time in prison and/or pay the stipulated fine.

Shoplifting Laws Connecticut

  • First Degree Larceny by Shoplifting - If goods valued over $20,000 are stolen it is a Class B felony and the offender will be imprisoned for up to 20 years and/or pay up to $15,000 fine.
  • Second Degree Larceny by Shoplifting - If goods valued over $10,000 but below $20,000 are stolen it is a Class C felony and the offender will be imprisoned for up to 10 years and/or pay up to $10,000 fine.
  • Third Degree Larceny by Shoplifting - If goods valued over $2,000 but below $10,000 is stolen it is a Class D felony and the offender will be imprisoned for up to 5 years and/or pay up to $5,000 fine.
  • Fourth Degree Larceny by Shoplifting - If goods valued over $1,000 but below $2,000 is stolen it is a Class A misdemeanor and the offender will be imprisoned for up to a year and/or pay up to $2,000 fine.
  • Fifth Degree Larceny by Shoplifting - If goods valued over $500 but below $1,000 are stolen it is a Class B misdemeanor and the offender will be imprisoned for up to 6 months and/or pay up to $1,000 fine.
  • Sixth Degree Larceny by Shoplifting - If goods valued $500 or less are stolen it is a Class C misdemeanor and the offender will be imprisoned for up to 3 months and/or pay up to $500 fine.

Civil Penalties for Shoplifting in Connecticut:

Apart from criminal charges, the offender may also be required to fulfill civil penalties such as compensating the merchant for the goods stolen, paying the shop administrative and restitution charges as well as the charges incurred for filing a lawsuit. The shop can also ban the offender from entering their shop after the incident.

Search Connecticut Criminal Records with GoLookUp!